What is ITF?

What is ITF?

ITF Logo

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) is the world governing body of tennis, one of the few truly global sports. The objective of the ITF is to further grow and develop the sport worldwide, to develop the game at all levels at all ages for both able-bodied and disabled men and women, to make, amend and uphold the rules of the game, to promote the International Team Championships and competitions of the ITF, to preserve the integrity and independence of tennis as a sport, and to perform all without discrimination on grounds of colour, race, nationality, ethnic or national origin, age, sex or religion.

The ITF has 205 member National Associations – more than most other international sporting federations. Member nations come from every continent, and each association is involved in organising tennis and promoting the interests of the game. More on the National Associations, including contact details, can be found in the National Associations section of the About the ITF weblet.

The ITF also has six Regional Associations based geographically, which work within their regions and continents to assist the development and co-ordination of tennis:

Asian Tennis Federation (ATF) – Web Site
Confederacion SudAmericana de Tenis (COSAT) – Web Site
Confederation of African Tennis (CAT) – Web Site
COTECC (Central America & Caribbean)- Web Site
Oceania Tennis Federation (OTF) – Web Site
Tennis Europe – Web Site